Eureka College Names Alumni Award Winners

EUREKA – Eureka College will present its annual alumni awards at a dinner at 6:00 PM, April 12 during Alumni Weekend. The dinner is open to the public. Cost is $25 for individuals and $40 for couples. For reservations, call the alumni office at 309-467-6317 by April 4.

Award recipients are Bob Gold of Eureka; Clarence “Pete” Hughes of Roanoke; Charles “Chuck” Coffman and Florence Coffman, both of Pekin; David Windley of Seymour, Ind.; Anna Freidinger Palmer of Boston, Mass., formerly of Pekin; and Stephen Hathway of Green Bay, Wis.

Gold will receive the Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award for professional achievement and community service.  He received a degree in mathematics and secondary education from Eureka College in 1994. He is superintendent of Eureka Community Unit School District 140. He formerly taught at Eureka High School and was principal at Eureka Middle School. He is a member of the Advisory Committee for the Eureka College Education Department and was a member of the committee that hosted the visit to Eureka College by retired Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor. He is a member of Eureka Rotary Club and has been a volunteer for many community organizations and events.

The Coffmans each will receive an Alumni Board President’s Award for Service for dedicating their time and effort for the advancement of Eureka College. The couple each received a degree in elementary education from Eureka College in 1951. They are retired from teaching in the Pekin school district. They are co-founders of the Class of 1951 Endowed Scholarship and were members of the Eureka College Alumni Board. Florence Coffman was a member of the Eureka College Women’s Board. 

Hughes and Windley will be named honorary alumni of Eureka College for their extraordinary commitment and loyalty to the college and for their efforts toward the advancement of the college, its students and its mission. Hughes taught in the Eureka College Teacher Education Department for 16 years after retiring as a public school teacher, basketball coach and superintendent. He is a member of the college’s Touchdown Club for football and attends many college arts and athletics events. Windley is a certified public accountant and co-founder of Blue, a regional CPA firm headquartered in Indianapolis. He is serving a fourth term on the Eureka College Board of Trustees.

Palmer will receive the Outstanding Young Alumni Award for alumni who have graduated within the past 15 years and who have shown outstanding commitment to their professions, communities, churches and alma mater. She received a degree in communications and political science and history from Eureka College in 2007. She is CEO of Fashion Project, an online designer clothing resale boutique that benefits diverse humanitarian causes. Palmer has founded two nonprofit organizations, served on three nonprofit boards and volunteers with BUILD, an entrepreneurship training and college preparation program for high school students.

Hathway will receive the Alumni Award of Merit for consistently representing the high ideals and great purposes of Eureka College through distinctive service to school and community. He received a degree in biology from Eureka College in 1963. He was a pathologist for 20 years and a medical director for two insurance companies. He was director of the Wisconsin State Medical Society. He served four terms on the Eureka College Board of Trustees.