Voters in Madison, St. Clair reject countywide taxes

By Bob Pieper For Chronicle Media

Alton Mayor Brant Walker
(Photo courtesy of City of Alton)

Voters rejected all county-wide tax proposals on April 4 election ballots across Metro East.

Madison County saw defeat of 1 cents sales tax proposal to benefit area school districts with 22,105 voting against the measure and 21,846 voting for it.

In St. Clair County, voters rejected both a 1 percent sales tax for law enforcement related-agencies on a 26,407 to 16,154 vote — and a 1 percent sales tax for school district facilities — on a 23,999 to 18,616 vote.

Randolph County voters turned down a 1 percent Public Safety Sales tax proposition, on a vote of 9,574 TO 4,367 votes.  County voters rejected a public safety sales tax by a similar margin during the November general election.

However, local tax and public debt measures did somewhat better.

Voters in Edwardsville Consolidated Unit School District 7 approved the Proposition E property tax referendum, by a margin of 8,618 to 5,804.  Proposition E will increase property taxes in the district from $2.15 to $2.70 per $100 of equalized assessed value.

In the Cahokia Fire Protection District Voters, voters by 661 to 269 margin authorized issuance of $1,040,000 in general obligation bonds to purchase fire trucks and other firefighting apparatus and equipment.

In the Northwest St. Clair County Fire Protection District, voters by a 732 to 288 margin, authorized $1,550,000 in general obligation bonds to improve existing facilities and purchase equipment.


Freeburg Fire Protection District voters, on the other hand, turned down a proposal for a $3,300,000 general obligation bond issue to construct and equip a new fire station.  The proposition failed on a 920 to 709 vote.

Several Metro East cities were to scene of heated mayoral battles.

In Belleville, incumbent Mayor Mark Eckert secured a fourth full term; garnering 4,236 vote in a race with City Clerk Dallas Cook who received 2,106.

In Alton, incumbent Mayor Brant Walker won a second term; garnering 2,242 votes, to hold off challenges from businessman Scott Dixon (1,452) and two write-in candidates: community activist Joshua Young and Alton Police Lieutenant Dan Rauschkolb.

The two write-in candidates drew a total of 354 votes; however, specific totals for each were still not available through the Madison County Clerk’s office at the Chronicle’s deadline.

Incumbent Granite City Mayor Ed Hagnauer defeated challenger Art Asadorian on a 2,980 to 1,639 vote

Glen Carbon Mayor Rob Jackstadt secured a fourth term. He received 2,333 votes to hold off a challenge from Steven Slemer, who received 1,481.

Madison Mayor John W Hamm III held off a challenge from Demetrius “Bird” Williams on a 683 to 220 vote.

Troy Mayor Al Adomite captured 1081 votes in a three-way race with challengers Ralph Clemings (123) and Jack Haggard (174).

In Mascoutah, incumbent Mayor Gerald E. Daugherty withstood a challenge from James E. Saffel, Sr. on a 934 to 183 vote.

Incumbent Shiloh Village President James A. Vernier, II held off a challenge from Jerry Northway on a 1,093 to 710 vote.

In Venice, longtime Mayor Tyrone Echols received 308 votes as he faced a challenge from write-in candidate Alexian Miller, for whom vote totals were not yet available.

On the Millstadt ballot, incumbent Village President Michael Todd was unopposed; winning reelection with 724 of the 866 ballots cast.

However, a number of Metro East cities and villages saw new mayors or board presidents elected.

Rickie Thomas was elected the new mayor of Washington Park, garnering 566 votes in a battle with incumbent mayor Ann Rodgers — who ran as write-in candidate after being removed from the ballot — and drew 324 votes.  Terrilyn Gossett ran third with 28 votes.

In O’Fallon, Herb Roach defeated City Clark Phil Goodwin to succeed the retiring Mayor Gary L. Graham.  Roach was supported by 3,024 voters while Goodwin drew 2,518 votes.

In Caseyville, village trustee G.W. Scott Sr. successfully challenged Leonard “Len” Black for the office of mayor.  Scott garnered 415 votes to Black’s 207. A third candidate Ron “Tambo” Tamburello drew 184 votes.

In Brooklyn, Vera Clasper Banks drew 116 votes to edge out incumbent Trenton Akin (110 votes) to become the village’s new mayor.

In the Village of Swansea, Michel W. Leopold unseated incumbent Mayor Kenneth S. Mueller. Leopold drew 1,375 votes to Mueller’s 910.

In Millstadt, incumbent Village President Michael Todd ran unopposed for re-election, receiving 724 votes.

In Maryville, Craig Short was elected, unopposed, to replace retiring Mayor Larry Gulledge.






— Voters in Madison, St. Clair reject countywide taxes  —