Nominations sought for Illinois Route 66 Centennial Commission

Chronicle Media

The beginning point for Route 66 at East Adams Street and Jackson in Chicago. (Photo courtesy of Illinoisroute

Illinoisans with an interest in history and the Mother Road are encouraged to nominate themselves for open seats on the recently created Route 66 Centennial Commission.

The commission’s 20 members will develop plans for celebrating the famous highway’s 100th anniversary, coming up in 2026. Legislation creating the commission was signed into law in July, calling for the appointment of three public members, one of whom shall lead the commission.


“This is a significant milestone for Route 66. The road is not only a strong reminder of how far we’ve come as a state, but its economic importance continues today, it’s a valuable asset for communities throughout our state,” said Sen. Barickman.


Members of this commission will ensure Illinois plays host to events and activities that will boost tourism in Illinois. The Route 66 Centennial celebration gives us a unique opportunity to focus the world on all things Illinois.


“Illinois holds the distinction of being the starting point for this legendary highway,” said Sen. Barickman. “The 100th anniversary of this iconic road is worthy of celebrating all along its path.”


The commission shall meet at least quarterly. Applications for appointments can be made online here.


Along with the three public members, eight appointments to the commission must be made by Senate and House majority and minority leaders. Also serving on the commission will be the president of the Route 66 Association of Illinois and the executive director of the Illinois Route 66 Scenic Byway, or their designees.

Rounding out the commission are seven ex-officio members to include the following officials or their designees: the governor, the secretary of the Department of Transportation; the director of the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency; the Department of Natural Resources director; the director of the Office of Tourism; the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity director; and the director of the State Archives.








— Nominations sought for Illinois Route 66 Centennial Commission —